ARC Review: Bearing It All (Highlander’s Beloved, #3) by Vonnie Davis

A Highlander's Heart - Vonnie Davis
Bearing It All 

 Highlander's Beloved #3  
 Vonnie Davis  
 Paranormal Romance - Shapeshifter's  
 Loveswept  
 October 27th 2015  
 eBook  
 297  
 ARC NetGalley  
 

 

A Scottish hunter and a French secret agent find themselves on a collision course with danger—and irresistible desire—in Vonnie Davis’s new bear-shifting Highlander novel, perfect for fans of Jennifer Ashley and Shelly Laurenston.

 

In the pine-dense mountains of the Scottish Highlands, shape-shifter Ronan Matheson is running free when a desperate woman parachutes out of the sky, directly onto his furry, powerful chest. Instead of clawing her to death, Ronan’s inner bear longs to keep her safe. Once he’s back in human form, Ronan is amused by the mysterious beauty’s fearless attitude—and tempted by her expertly toned physique. But what could she possibly be doing in this isolated stretch of the Highlands?

 

French intelligence agent Anisa Brosseau never imagined she’d be on the CIA’s bad side—until she’s framed for treason and forced to flee in a stolen drone. Hiding out in a remote cabin, Anisa just needs some time to clear her name. What she doesn’t need is a brooding, muscle-bound Scot in a skimpy kilt to drive her crazy with lust. But when Anisa’s enemies come knocking on his door, Ronan calls on a secret weapon to protect his turf and the bonny lass he’s come to love.

 

 

MyReview02-angelsgp

 

~ 2.5 Bearing It All Stars ~

 

I was waiting not so patiently for Bearing It All to come out in Vonnie Davis Highlander’s Belovedseries. I have fallen in love with the world Ms. Davis has created as well as her characters. So to say I am sadly disappointed and bummed in Ms. Davis’s latest installment of Bearing It All, is an understatement.

 

I had such high hopes and expectations. Bearing It All started out at the begging so well, but something happened and I almost DNF’d it, but I kept going. I LOVED A Highlander’s Obsession, and A Highlander’s Passion. So, for this one to turn out to not work for me was sad.

 

What I Liked: 

 

  • I like how the author has set up her shifters for this series. Man and Bear can talk to each other, its like two separate entities, yet they are one. Each bringing a different aspect to the conversation or situation. At times the conversations Ronan would have with his bear were insightful and funny. The author describes it best as “two different halves of a whole.”

 

  • I liked how the story starts out. It was just to funny reading about Anisa falling out of the sky and landing on Brother Bear (Ronan in bear form) and how she handles the situation. Funny!

 

  • I liked that we got to see some of the previous characters. Just glimpses into their lives. Like Bryce and Kenzie, waiting for the birth of their baby and how Colleen is so happy to become a big sister. Fans who have read the previous books will love the return of older characters.

 

  • I liked the short short story at the end called “The Pink Chapter.” Yep, those who are fans of the series will know by the title who it is about. We get a nice surprise in that story.

 

What I Didn’t Like: 

 

  • The lack of Effie our ever loving pink haired grandma who loves to metal in the affairs of others. She brought so much comedy, humor, and fun to the stories, that I missed seeing more of her in Bearing It All.

 

  • Anisa and Roman. Well this story turned out to be an insta-love/attraction and they have a very quick romance. Yes, they have meet before about seven years ago in France, but that was more acquaintances, not a relationship. So, I never believed in their romance. It never felt right to me. In Highlander’s Obsession, book one, and A Highlander’s Passion, book 2, the couples had time to grow or they had a long history together, which made their romances believable. This one lacked that time of getting to know each other to really believe in their love.

 

  • Brother Bear was more like a child in this story. He sees Anisa as a mother figure or friend. I never got that feeling from the other books, so it just made the relationship between Roman and Anisa weirder.

 

  • I was not a fan of Anisa and that she is a CIA operative, yes she kicked butt, but some of the things that happened to her and why they happened never fully worked for me.

 

  • Last I never bought into the plot/storyline. Things happened that where just to unbelievable or it got resolved to easily.

 

Even though Bearing It All turned out to not be the book for me. If the blurb intrigues you, I urge you to give it a shot. Just because it did not work for me does not mean it won’t for you.

 

*Disclaimer: ARC provided by Loveswept via NetGalley with the sole purpose of an honest review. All thoughts, comments and ratings are my own.

 

Was this review helpful? If so, please consider liking it on Goodreads (Angela)!

Source: http://angelsguiltypleasures.com/2015/11/arc-review-bearing-it-all-highlanders-beloved-3-by-vonnie-davis